32 ICT Projects from Kerala vie for eIndia Awards


Tvm: In what can be seen as the emergence of Kerala in the development and implementation of Information and Communication Technology (ICT), 32 projects from Kerala are competing for the coveted eIndia 2010 Awards. The eINDIA Awards given by the Central Government are the premier accolades given to innovative endeavours made in assimilating technology in developmental concerns.

The eINDIA Awards have been instrumental in promoting the most innovative initiatives in the domain of ICTs for Development and to spread awareness about the role of ICTs in addressing social concerns. The awards would be declared at the eIndia 2010, the largest ICT event in India to be held from August 4 – 6, 2010 at Hyderabad.

eINDIA Awards will be given under the following categories: e-Governance, Digital Learning, e-Health, e-Agriculture, Municipal IT and Telecentre. There are 18 entries from Kerala in the e-Governance category, 10 in Digital learning, 3 in e-Health and 1 in e-Agriculture.

Nominations received under the awards have been put up online for the public to vote, with the entry receiving the maximum number of votes being declared the winner under the eINDIA Citizen Choice Award. So log on to the eIndia Awards page and vote. Remember, voting closes on July 15, 2010.

Category & List of Projects from Kerala and (Implementing Agency)


Government to Citizens (G2C) Initiative of the Year
1. Akshaya Project (Akshaya)
2. e-Grantz (Scheduled Caste Development Department)
3. e-Services for Ration (National Informatics Centre, Kerala State Centre)
4. Higher Secondary Centralized Allotment Process (Directorate of Higher Secondary Education)
5. Kerala State AIDS Control Society Portal (KSACS)
6. LOGIN.KERALA – Energizing Kerala Tourism (Department of Tourism )
7. SAGE- System for Automated Governance of Examinations (University of Kerala)
8. Sameeksha Village Documentation and Community Computing Centre (Kerala State IT Mission)
9. Swabhiman- Service on Call (District Collectorate, Kozhikode)
10. System for Attumanal Nuetral Distribution(SAND) (District Collectorate, Thrissur)

Government to Business (G2B) Initiative of the Year

11. E-Tax Administration Programme (Dept of Commercial Taxes)

Government to Government (G2G) Initiative of the Year

12. Animal Husbandry Enterprise Administrative Depository (AHEAD) (Department of Animal Husbandry)
13. Message (Kerala State IT Mission)
14. RevenueSuite (District Collectorate, Palakkad)
15. RR Online- Online Revenue Recovery Service (Land Revenue Department)
16. Sulekha- Plan Formulation and Monitoring system for Decentralised Planning of Local Governments (Information Kerala Mission)

mGovernance Initiative of the Year
17. Kissan Kerala: Mobile Based Agriculture Information Service (IIITM-K)

ICT Enabled PSU of the Year
18. SATVA (“Solution for Achieving Transparency and Value Addition”) (Malabar Cements Ltd.)

Digital Learning

ICT Enabled School of the Year
1. Swathanthra Software Kootayma (Free Software Group) (Vocational Higher Secondary School, Irimpanam)

ICT Enabled University/Higher Education Institute of the Year

2. eCollege Suite (Kottakkal Ayurveda College)
3. Technology Enhanced Learning and Teaching (TELT) Model (IIITM-K)

ICT Enabled Engineering College of the Year
4. Implementation of FOSS tools like DSpace and Moodle (Vidya Academy of Science and Technology, Thrissur)

Open and Distance Learning Initiative of the Year
5. Amrita Virtual Interactive E Learning World (Amrita E Learning Research Lab)
6. Distance Learning initiative on RTI Act (IMG)
7. IT @ School ViCTERS (IT @ School Project)

Skill Development Initiative of the Year
8. [email protected] Project – Programme for ICT enabled education (IT @ School Project)
9. Sakshat Amrita Vocational Education (Amrita Vishwa Vidya Peetham)

Private Sector Initiative of the Year in Digital Learning
10. EduWorld Science Net (EduWorld)


Civil Society/ Development Agency Initiative of the Year
1. Dr SMS and Health Information Portal (NIC)
2. Development of Mobile Tele Oncology unit (CDAC)

Private Sector Initiative of the Year in eHealth
3. Blooray Ophthalmic Patient Care Automation (BOPCA) (Blooray IT Solutions, Kayamkulam)


ICT Enabled Agriculture Initiative of the Year
1. KISSAN Kerala Online Agri Video Channel (IIITM-K)

Anil Philip
Kerala IT News


Comments are closed.