Technopark Trivandrum to host State School IT Fest on Feb 1 & 2


Tvm: The Technopark campus in Trivandrum is all set to host the 11th edition of the State School IT Fest on February 1 & 2, 2012. About 500 students from across Kerala, including the first and second position winners in district-level IT fests, are expected to attend the two day IT event. It is for the fifth consecutive time that the State School IT Mela is being held at Technopark. Meanwhile, the Fest website was launched on January 27. A release from IT@School said that the inaugural function scheduled for February 1 has been cancelled due to official mourning.

The competitions would be held separately for high school, higher secondary / vocational higher secondary sections at four venues in Technopark. Competitions will be held on an open source platform in Digital Painting, Multimedia Presentation, Web Page Designing, IT Project, Malayalam Computing and IT Quiz.

According to Anvar Sadath, Executive Director, IT@School, “Apart from these competitions, the IT Mela would see sessions on various IT topics of interest to the students. The students would also get a chance to interact with the IT Professionals in Technopark and see the companies there. A new attraction this time will be the International Centre for Free and Open Source Software (ICFOSS) Lab who will host some competitions”.

Chief Minister Shri Oommen Chandy will give away prizes to the winners of the competitions during the valedictory function to be held on February 2. The handing over of the e-India Award 2011 won by IT@School Project and screening of animation films by students will also be held during the function. The competition results, videos and photos of the State School IT Fest will be uploaded live on the fest website ( The ViCTERS channel will have two special bulletins everyday on the fest.

At the State School IT Fest 2011, Ernakulam District was the overall winner. KPES High School Kayakkodi, Kozhikode and WOHSS Pinangodu, Wayanad got the best High School and Higher Secondary School prizes respectively.

Kerala IT News


Comments are closed.